„Gazeta Jarocińska” laureatem Nagrody im. Bolesława Wierzbiańskiego
“Gazeta Jarocińska” won the Bolesław Wierzbiański Award

The ceremony of announcing the Local Press Association competition results and presenting the 2015 Local Press awards took place during the Gala at the Royal Castle in Warsaw on March 10. The main award of the Newspaper of the Year was handed by Andrew Nagorski, the PAFF Board of Directors Chairman.

The “Pro Publico Bono” Competition for the Best Civil Initiative was initiated in 1999 by Prime-Minister Jerzy Buzek. Since 2000 the Polish-American Freedom Foundation has funded the prizes awarded in the Competition.

The purpose of the Competition is to support the development of civil society by awarding the most valuable and creative activities undertaken by non-governmental organizations – on a national, regional, and especially local level – in the fields of education, culture and national heritage, health protection, social and charitable assistance, environmental protection and regional development, public diplomacy and European integration.

When considering an initiative, the Chapter or evaluating body (whose first honorary chairman was Jan Nowak-Jeziorański†) takes into account the social importance of the initiative, its innovativeness, impact on the development and competitiveness of local communities, and the effectiveness and transparency with which it makes use of public funds. Also, the Chapter considers the institutional stability of the nominee, compliance with ethical standards in its activity, and its cooperation with public administration and other institutions. The competition winners are rewarded with financial support which most frequently is allocated for the continuation of their efforts.

In 2014 – the year of the 25th anniversary of political transformation and 15th anniversary of the Pro Publico Bono Competition – jubilee Pro Pubico Bono Independence Rebirth Awards were presented to the Cultural Promotion Association of Aleksander Tansman seated in Łódź and to the Polish Academy of Arts and Sciences seated in Kraków. Distinctions went to the “East Bound” Association for Civilizational Development from Sejny and “Doctors of Hope” Association from Krakow.


As part of the program, since 2007 PAFF has funded Bolesław Wierzbiański Award for the local press editorial staff. Until 2011 the award was granted by the Polish Journalists Association, and since then by the Local Newspapers Association. The winner of the 2015 Bolesław Wierzbiański Award was the editorial staff of the “Wiadomości Oławskie”, and in 2016 – of the “Gazeta Jarocińska”.

The Foundation has disbursed $2,441,979, including $21,304 for the current edition of the program.

Program Managers:
The „Pro Publico Bono” Competition Foundation (2000-2014)
The Local Press Association


Responsible within PAFF:
Renata Koźlicka-Glińska (Program Director)
supported by Katarzyna Świątkiewicz (Program Officer)